Jump to content
Afrii Diaspora Dialogue
Build your website with Namecheap!
  • Inaugural Jazz Music Awards show is this weekend in Atlanta


    Tony Award-winning artist Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will host the ceremony.

    The inaugural Jazz Music Awards is scheduled to kick off on Oct. 22 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports. 

    Tony Award-winning artist Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will host the ceremony. Artists scheduled to perform on Saturday include Dianne Reeves, Jazzmeia Horn, Kenny Garrett, Ledisi and others.

    According to the official website of the Jazz Music Awards, the event “recognizes jazz as an American musical art form, birthed from the experience and innovation of African Americans, rooted in blues, ragtime, swing, bebop, and creative improvised music, including  Latin jazz, mainstream, smooth, and other contemporary forms, or hybrids.”

    STARZ New Series Premiere "Run The World" VIP Screening And Reception
    Ledisi, here at the “Run The World” VIP screening and reception in May 2021 in Los Angeles, is among those slated to perform during the inaugural Jazz Music Awards on Oct, 22, 2022 in Atlanta. (Photo by Emma McIntyre/Getty Images)

    “We are honored to recognize and present a wide range of dynamic and innovative artists including our six award honorees and our 33 nominees,” Wendy F. Williams, creator and executive producer of the Jazz Music Awards, said in a statement, Billboard reports.

    “We are officially the first and only awards show to exclusively celebrate jazz music on an international platform in North America,” Williams said. “By recognizing our honorees and nominees, we are giving thanks for their incredible artistry that furthers the richness of the jazz tradition, which is integral to American music and culture.” 

    Late pianist and composer McCoy Tyner is slated to receive the Jazz Legend Award and saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter will receive a lifetime achievement award, Billboard reports. Those are two of the honorary awards to be presented during the ceremony. Awards will also be presented in eight competitive categories, and four-time Grammy nominee The Baylor Project leads with three nominations for the album, “Generations.”

    The nomination eligibility period was from April 1, 2021 through March 31, 2022. 

    In previewing the show to The AJC, Williams said, “You will see nine great performances by artists at the top of the jazz charts, a main stage, public show of musicians who have been satisfying audiences and performing in front of hundreds of thousands of people and are now here on our stage, performing and being honored.” 

    She said she hopes that the Jazz Music Awards will eventually have the profile of other such programs. “Our purpose is to elevate the art to be recognized like other art forms,” Williams explained. “Jazz is America’s art and there was no award ceremony for our genre. Our hope is to elevate the Jazz Music Awards to the status of a TV broadcast like the other major award shows.”

    Following is the complete list of nominees in the eight competitive categories, according to Billboard:

    Best Mainstream Artist
    Joey DeFrancesco, More Music
    Kenny Garrett, Sounds From The Ancestors
    Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Live at the Village Vanguard
    Brandee Younger, Somewhere Different

    Best Contemporary Artist
    Brian Bromberg, A Little Driving Music
    Ben Tankard, SHINE!
    Lindsey Webster, “I Didn’t Mean It”
    Ragan Whiteside, “Off the Cuff”

    Best Duo, Group, or Big Band
    The Baylor Project, Generations
    Jazzmeia Horn and Her Noble Force, Dear Love
    Christian McBride & Inside Straight, Live at the Village Vanguard
    Count Basie Orchestra, Live at Birdland
    (under the direction of Scotty Barnhart)
    Kevin Eubanks and Orrin Evans, EEE (Eubanks-Evans-Experience)

    Best New Jazz Artist (Contemporary or Mainstream)
    Simon Moullier, Countdown
    Julieta Engenio, Jump
    Kazemde George, I Insist
    Samara Joy, Samara Joy

    Best Vocal Performance
    The Baylor Project, Generations
    Somi Kakoma, Dreaming Zenzile
    Stacey Kent, Songs From Other Places
    Shawnn Monteiro, You Are There

    Best Mainstream Album
    The Baylor Project, Generations
    Orrin Evans, The Magic of Now
    Kenny Garrett, Sounds From The Ancestors
    Brandee Younger, Somewhere Different

    Best Contemporary Album
    Bob Baldwin, The Stay at Home Series, Volume 1
    Brian Culbertson, The Trilogy Red
    Sonny Emory, Soul Ascension
    Gabriel Mark Hasselbach, Tongue & Groove

    Song of the Year (Fan Vote)
    Norman Brown, “Back At Ya”
    Brian Culbertson, “Feel the Love”
    Justin-Lee Schultz, “Gruv Kid”
    James “PJ” Spraggins, “Up From Here”

    TheGrio is FREE on your TV via Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Roku and Android TV. Also, please download theGrio mobile apps today!

    The post Inaugural Jazz Music Awards show is this weekend in Atlanta appeared first on TheGrio.

    View the full article

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...